top of page

Peanutbutter and Stroopwaffles

Last weekend was an eventful one! My roommates and I took our first trip to Amsterdam, and it was incredible. We flew in last Thursday night and had all weekend to explore the city. Amsterdam is a beautiful little city that had me sad to say goodbye when we left. The architecture and canals are gorgeous, and the rhythm the city moves to is infections. Our hostel was located smack in the middle of the infamous Red-Light District. I expected to feel somewhat uneasy at night in this area but surprisingly I found myself feeling safer here than I did in Rome sometimes. The openness of the streets and glaring lights really make a differnece here.

On our first day, we visited the Anne Frank house which, while saddening, was an incredible experience, and honestly so cool to see after reading her diary. After lunch, we went on a walking tour of the city where we saw multiple churches, monuments, and local establishments. We also visited a local grocery where we tried Stroopwaffle, and saw that they actually eat peanut butter in the Netherlands (which made me really happy!)

On Saturday, we shopped around and took pictures at the I AM AMSTERDAM sign. We mainly took this day to get lost in the city and explore places we hadn’t been yet. It was a pretty leisurely day.

Lastly on Sunday we went on a canal cruise before going to the Heineken experience. Our plan left late that night so we grabbed dinner and our bags and headed for the airport.

Needless to say, I really enjoyed Amsterdam and would even consider living there at some point in my life. It is a very progressive, open-minded city which stole my heart (plus the average height for girls is 5’7’’ so I fit right in).

I can’t wait to return in the future.

xo,

Peyton


bottom of page